I am Anthony E. Savvides. This is my blog.

Reflections & adventures of a writer at heart, a journalist by trade and a waiter by night.

A better beginning, the start of the end

leave a comment »

It is my final Monday night in Amman.  After some time, my first story was published on our homepage, www.northeasternuniveristyabroad2011.wordpress.com.  My host mother prepared a delicious meal as usual, and I am happy to report that this week has gotten off to a much better start than last week.  I don’t feel sick at all, thankfully, but I am a little sad that my time in Amman is coming to an end on Thursday.

I still have much to look forward to in the coming days.  Tomorrow, I will arrive at the lowest point on Earth at the Dead Sea.  Along the way, we will stop at Mount Nebo, where Moses looked out over the Promise Land of milk and honey.  It is rumored that Moses was buried there, but that has never been verified.  We’ll also pay a visit to the town of Madaba, which is supposedly the heartland of mosaic art in Jordan.  I can’t wait to see all of it…

Written by AESavvides

June 1, 2011 at 12:12 pm

Posted in Our travels in Jordan

Tagged with

Leave a comment