I am Anthony E. Savvides. This is my blog.

Reflections & adventures of a writer at heart, a journalist by trade and a waiter by night.

Forever a part of me. I have blisters and scars all over.

with one comment

Well, this week was quite a whirlwind; our group departed from SIT in Amman early on Monday morning and headed toward the south of Jordan. The first stop along the way was the Karak Castle, and it was beautiful. The week’s full agenda included stops at Karak Castle and Dana Biosphere Reserve, as well as Petra, Wadi Rum, and the port city of Aqaba on the Red Sea.

Personally, I feel like castles are similar to Roman ruins, in that they all sort of look exactly the same. I know, they’re not the same thing and each have their own history and story, and their surroundings may be different. But, to my naked eyes, everything unique about a castle is lost once you see another. After two or three, or more, castles all appear the same to me.

After Karak Castle, the bus drove us to the Dana Nature Reserve. The road was long, and the air was thick with humidity. Once we strolled all the way down the road along the mountainside, the camp with white, rounded tents was immediately in front of us. It was amazing- I have never seen so much greenery in Jordan. We went on a “hike,” as a group of too many 46. The hike was a disappointment to Matt and I, who were recalled back to the group as we continued down the path. Now, we’ll never know where it leads to.

Dana was exciting for me, since I had been almost everywhere else we have gone to just a year ago.

Last year, during this weeklong excursion, roughly one new site per day, I learned so much about myself. My way of thinking and living changed.  It was such a time of serenity and peace for me, and I was really able to think deeply about my life, and the people I know and those I love.  I never thought that I would be back here, in Jordan, so soon.  And I didn’t think that the natural solace and tranquility of these places would surround me again.

I sure am glad I was wrong, because Petra and Wadi Rum are incredible places, and I feel blessed to have experienced them both again.  Seeing something you love so much a second time, after some time apart, gives you a deeper appreciation for it.  That’s exactly how I feel about these places, and my time spent there with such good friends.

Well, everyone, that’s all I have for now. I’m on deadline today for my second story, so keep an eye out for that soon. And I’ll be writing more in-depth about my week in the south of Jordan, but for now there just isn’t time. I’ll leave you on the edge of your seat with anticipation for those posts, and some pictures.

Written by AESavvides

June 9, 2012 at 6:18 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really enjoyed your story and photos! Very interesting. Looks like you are all having a good time. Miss you!

    joanne

    June 9, 2012 at 12:16 pm


Leave a Reply

