I am Anthony E. Savvides. This is my blog.

Reflections & adventures of a writer at heart, a journalist by trade and a waiter by night.

Jordanian cityscapes, from Badia to Aqaba.

with 5 comments

Over the course of three weeks living in a sprawling city built on 19 hills, you tend to take a lot too many an excessive amount of pictures. After a while, you’ll find yourself scrolling through the images wondering what part of the city is seen in each picture.

Is that near the Al Hussein Mosque? No, this must be in downtown Amman. I think this picture is of the city from the Citadel. Etcetera, etcetera, etcetera.

I find myself in the aforementioned situation this afternoon, as we drive back from an excursion to the city of Jerash (Gerasa), where we spent the better part of the day. (More on the sites later tonight.) I’m sitting on a bus driving down a hill, and I have no idea what I’m looking at in my own photos. Shame on me. I suppose that I could have written a note each time I snapped a shot, but is that realistic? Not really. I could carry a notebook around, and I do, but I use that for things like this. It’s a notepad, and I write notes in it- sometimes those notes become blogs, but most times they stay put right there, in my notebook.

I wish my camera had some tool to record the location of an image; it can’t be too far off, can it? I mean, the only way I can at least keep track of when things happen is by referring to the timestamp of each photo. I’ll stop my rambling, and just insert my gallery. Below, please find a few of my scattered, unlabeled images of this city, as seen from some other, unknown parts of Amman.

Additionally, there are photos of Salt, the northern Badia, and Madaba, with more to be added soon of Petra and Aqaba. Be sure to check back to this gallery in the coming weeks, as I continue my travels in Jordan.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Written by AESavvides

June 2, 2012 at 1:35 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. this Having just been searching forwell written blog posts for the research project Ive been working on when I happened to find yours. Thanks for this useful content! Glucose Testing Strips

    info

    June 3, 2012 at 4:19 am

  2. Thanks so much for the article post.Much thanks again. Really Cool.

    travelocity

    June 3, 2012 at 2:21 pm

  3. I know that when you use smart phone camera’s, they document the location where the picture was taken…good ole big brother watching your every move and documenting it for you…

    Savas

    June 5, 2012 at 3:22 pm

  4. I miss jordan so much! Anthony reading your blog is making me sad 😦

    Ally

    June 10, 2012 at 8:38 am

    • No!! It shouldn’t make you sad, it should remind you of all the good times we had 🙂 I miss everyone from our group last year.

      AESavvides

      June 10, 2012 at 8:42 am


Leave a Reply

