I am Anthony E. Savvides. This is my blog.

Reflections & adventures of a writer at heart, a journalist by trade and a waiter by night.

Off to Turkey – travel day

with one comment

Note: This post was written on May 26.

Just after 7am, Ryan and I said our goodbyes to our host family.  Mama Munira promised she would call when she comes to visit her son in Queens in June, and I look forward to seeing her again.  We hailed a cab and headed to SIT.  Everyone loaded their luggage onto the big yellow bus, and we headed for the airport where it all began just two weeks ago.  Everyone stood in line for security and headed to the gate.  

Somewhere between the bus and the security line, I lost one of my bags.  It was a gift I had purchased, a beautiful dove carved out of an olive tree.  After realizing I no longer had it in my possession, I panicked.  I asked around at the airport if anyone had seen it, but no one had reported finding anything to the security guards.  Losing this gift, which I bought only yesterday, really put a damper on my mood.  I had some hope, though, that one of my peers had picked up the bag and that I would be pleasantly surprised to find it.  Although some had seen it, no one had it.  Oh well, sh*t happens.  C’est la vie.

After a few hours bumming around in the airport, we took a bus to the middle of the tarmac where we boarded the plane.  It felt more like a bus with wings. There were only two seats on each side of the aisle.  And for such a small plane, there seemed to be way too many flight attendants.  I took my place in row 26 next to Geoff Edgers.

I said my prayers as we tooks off, and bid farewell to Jordan.  

I will certainly miss it.

It was an enjoyable flight.  Geoff and I chatted about our time in Jordan, his trip to Egypt, and our favorite movies while Carlene tried her best to motivate Lila to complete her haiku homework assignment.  I think Geoff lost some respect for me when I mentioned Hook and Home Alone among my favorites, but oh well.  He also scrolled through my ipod, and I definitely lost some points there as well.  When lunch was served, I juggled our food trays to keep them out of Calvin’s reach.  That kid is too darn cute.  What a good sport he was on the plane.

        

While I ate, Geoff went to the back to change Cal’s diaper and Erin stopped by for a chat.

 

 

 

A few hours later, we were flying over Turkey and preparing for landing.

  

Here comes part two of this amazing adventure…. Welcome to Istanbul!

Welcome to Istanbul!

Stay tuned…

Written by AESavvides

June 6, 2011 at 7:25 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Don’t worry, A. I respect you! I’m just a music snob. And I’ll be checking out Hook when we get back. Geoff

    Geoff A. Edgers

    June 6, 2011 at 7:28 pm


Leave a Reply

